Top 5 Tuesday // Character Driven Books

Top 5 Tuesday

Top 5 Tuesday is a weekly tag hosted by Bionic Book Worm! Please head over and check out her blog!

This week’s topic is character driven books! It was kind of hard for me to narrow this one down to 5, because all my favorite books are extremely character driven. If a book doesn’t have good characters I have a difficult time getting into it. Below is my top 5 character driven books!! 

 

17675462

The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater

The entire Raven Cycle series is incredibly character driven. These characters make me want for adventure in a way I didn’t think was possible. I love that at first glance they all seem like such two dimensional characters, but we learn so much about them over the course of the four novels and I ended up loving them all very very much.

 

345627

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

This is another one of my favorite series. I read it when I was really young, but I always come back to it. I’ve reread them and it’s spin-off series, Bloodlines, more times than I can count. The characters are just so funny!! They all have their problems and both series handle some pretty heavy stuff, but the humor and love really shows through. The friendships in both series really is one of the strongest parts about the story.

 

234371561

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I absolutely adored the characters from Six of Crows. They all were so dynamic and I really feel like the series could’ve been boring without such interesting characters. Again, the humor really made me love them. Nina and her waffles. Everything Jesper said. Matthias and his exasperation. I just loved it.

 

28187

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

I would be stupid not to include PJO and Heroes of Olympus!! These characters mean SO much to me. I remember when I first picked up Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief when I was 13. I felt like I had made lifelong friends, and nearly a decade later I still feel that way.

 

3

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

You honestly didn’t think I could resist putting HP in this list, did you? These were the very first characters my little bookish heart fell in love with. This is probably the ultimate character driven series. I don’t even have to explain this one!


I feel like this list is just a list of my favorite series! And it actually is. These would be the first books I recommend to anyone. What are some of your favorite character driven books?

152991932849243491

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday // Character Driven Books

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Character Driven Books – Bionic Book Worm

  2. I’ve heard so many people say how character-driven Raven Boys is, and I can’t wait to try it for that reason! I’m also excited to try Six of Crows. I also kind of want to try Percy Jackson. Basically the fact that you’ve included all these on your list bodes well for my future reading lol. And of course the HP characters are amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment